Hello from the new registrar

Hello! I would like to introduce myself. My name is Cheryl Genet and I am delighted to be coming aboard to serve as registrar for the Story Field Conference. It is especially fun to work again with Peggy and Tom, whom I first met when I served as registrar for the first Evolutionary Salon, held at the Hacienda in central California, and inspired by Michael Dowd and Connie Barlow, and my husband Russ Genet.

The Shambhala Conference promises to be a unique and life-changing event. But nuts and bolts must always be attended to as well, so, if you have any questions, problems, or suggestions in regard to registration for the conference, reservations at Shambhala, or accessing the blogs, I am your…woman! Please feel free to email me at storyfieldinfo@comcast.net, or call me at (805) 438-4088. Looking forward to getting to know you! Cheryl

2 Responses to Hello from the new registrar

  1. treefitzpatrick says:

    This is a test. It is confusing, to me, to understand how someone coming to this conference can jpost a blog post. . . a post versus a comment. . . I don’t wanna comment, I want to post like a grown up.

  2. tomatlee says:

    Hi, Tree. This blog is just getting started, so please be patient. As a registered participant, you will receive an invitation shortly when we have our lines in place. When you respond, there is one more step Cheryl has to do in order to authorize you to post. Then you can proceed as you wish.

    This blog is explicitly for the Story Field Conference, so only conference participants will be able to post actual blog postings. And, to do that, they will have to be invited. We just today got it set up so that Cheryl can invite people, so things should be buzzing soon.

    Anyone (not just conference participants) can submit a comment, and their first comment will go through us and, after that, they will be able to post any comment they want immediately. (At least that’s what I understand from what has been explained to me about how this site works.) This is not censoring. This is primarily to guard against spam.

    Cheryl, Peggy and I will also be monitoring to maintain a collaborative spirit here, and may delete or edit items in which people attack or insult each other. Which doesn’t mean everyone has to be nice; just non-destructive. This is much in the spirit of many participatory websites that encourage both broad participation and high quality (e.g., Wikipedia).

    So this blog is neither totally open nor totally controlled. It is being maintained to the best of our ability in service to the diverse people who are coming to the conference, and the intentions of the conference, itself. We are happy to have you here, knowing how much you are able to contribute.

Leave a comment